No, MTT users cannot make any changes in the application. Only a Salesforce administrator can make any changes related to MTT application in Salesforce.
The Salesforce Admin can add or delete Projects, Task or Work types. Admin can deactivate certain Projects, Task or Worktypes when the Projects are completed.
All Projects, Task and Work types must be added or deactivated from Salesforce ID only.